Category: Midlands

Sort

Showing 1-11 of 11

Image for Hawthorn Hedge Country

Hawthorn Hedge Country

By: Archer, Fred

Price: £10.00

Publisher: London, Hodder & Stoughton: 1970

Edition: first edition

Seller ID: 6222

Condition: Good +


Hardback, 222mm x 138mm green cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, 188pp. Photographic illustrations. Good +/Good +. Spine and boards a litle bumped. Book has been read, block edges a little grubby, pages clean. Dustwrapper has spine bumped, has been handled but still bright and clean. Third of Archer's books concerning the only slightly fictional village of Ayshon in the Vale of Evesham. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Archer, Ayshon, Evesham View more info

Image for Portrait of Birmingham

Portrait of Birmingham

By: Bird, Vivian

Price: £7.50

Publisher: London, Robert Hale: 1970

Edition: first edition

Seller ID: 6204

Condition: Good +++


Hardback, 8vo lilac cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, 239+pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good +++/Good. Spine just a little bumped, top edge of block dusty, otherwise nice and clean. Dustwrapper has been handled, some shelfwear, spine faded. Rewarding single-volume history of a city which emerged to greatness during the Industrial Revolution. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Birmingham, Industrial, Chamberlain View more info

Image for Portrait of Oxford

Portrait of Oxford

By: Cheetham, Hal

Price: £5.00

Publisher: London, Robert Hale: 1971

Edition: first edition

Seller ID: 6202

Condition: Good


Hardback, 8vo maroon cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, 240+pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good/Good. Ex-lib, with stickers and stamps. Book has been read but basically tight and clean, only block edges being a little grubby. Dustwrapper (now protected, some sticker residue) has a little shelfwear but overall bright and clean Authoritative illsutrated guide to the rich history of the University town. Catalogue: Local Topography. Keywords: Oxford, h... View more info

Companion into Worcestershire

By: Fraser, Maxwell

Price: £7.00

Publisher: London, Methuen: 1949

Edition: fourth edition

Seller ID: 6181

Condition: Good +


Hardback, 186mm x 128mm red cloth boards, gilt titles, fourth edition, x prelims, 278pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good +/NoWrapper. No d/w. Spine and boards bumped but clean. Block a little darkened, edges just a little dusty. Illustrated guide to an old English county, rich in history. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Worcestershire, Civil War, Elgar View more info

Image for A Confident Century - Stratford-on-Avon Golf Club 1894-1994

A Confident Century - Stratford-on-Avon Golf Club 1894-1994

By: Gee, John

Price: £15.00

Publisher: Worcester, Square One: 1994

Edition: first edition

Seller ID: 6241

Condition: Near Fine


Hardback, 8vo green cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, xii prelims, 179pp. Black and white illustrations. Photographic illustrations. Near Fine/Very Good. Book is near fine. Dustwrapper has been handled only occasionally, faint shelfwear to top rear else near fine. History of golf club in Shakespeare's town. Catalogue: Local Topography. Keywords: Golf, Stratford, Ryder View more info

Image for Oxfordshire By-Ways

Oxfordshire By-Ways

By: Marshall (M.A. (Oxon.)), Miss R.M.

Price: £4.50

Publisher: Oxford, Alden Press: 1935

Edition: first edition

Inscription: Owners inscription

Seller ID: 6184

Condition: Fair


Hardback, 194mm x 124mm light blue card boards over cloth spine, 141pp. plus index, Fair/NoWrapper. Owners inscription. Card boards are bumped with general discolouring. Block darkened but pages still clean, binding good. "An account of scenes and places which for the most part lie off the beaten track in Oxfordshire" introduced by Sir Michael Sadler. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Oxfordshire, by-way, walking View more info

The Cathedral Church of Worcester

By: Noake (J.P.), Valentine

Price: £7.00

Publisher: Worcester, Littlebury:

Seller ID: 6199

Condition: Good


Hardback, 8vo blue cloth boards, gilt titles, , 96+pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good/NoWrapper. No d/w. Book in Good+++ condition save for foxing to block edges. Block otherwise clean, if a little darkened with age. Spine and boards clean. With a foreword by Dean W E Beck, this is a rewarding illustrated guide to a great English cathedral. No date given but internal evidence argues strongly for immediate post-WW2. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Worces... View more info

The Dean's Handbook to Gloucestershire Cathedral

By: Spence-Jones (M.A., D.D.), Very Reverend H.D.M.

Price: £6.50

Publisher: London, J.M. Dent: 1913

Edition: first edition

Seller ID: 6188

Condition: Good +


Hardback, 186mm x 125mm green cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, xi prelims, 116pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good +/NoWrapper. Spine and boards notably clean and unworn for a 100-year-old book, though spine titles faded. Differential fading to endpapers, some darkening and foxing of block edges, light foxing also to some pages otherwise clean. Meticulously-detailed description of a great English cathedral. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Glouces... View more info

Birds of Gloucestershire

By: Swaine, Christopher M.

Price: £6.50

Publisher: Gloucester, Alan Sutton: 1982

Edition: first edition

Seller ID: 6234

Condition: Good +


Hardback, 8vo black cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, 236pp. plus index, Black and white illustrations. Photographic illustrations. Good +/Good. Spine a little bumped, light differential fading to endpapers, embossed owner's stamp on front endpaper, dusting to top of block. Dustwrapper has shelfwear along top, some evidence of handling. Illustrated guide to bird species found in Gloucestershire. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Birds, Gloucestershire, migration View more info

Image for Hunters of Longtree - A Cotswold Tale

Hunters of Longtree - A Cotswold Tale

By: Walker, David

Price: £10.00

Publisher: Aldridge, West Midlands, Orpheus Press: 2003

Edition: first edition

Inscription: Inscribed by author

Seller ID: 6251

Condition: Near Fine


Hardback, 8vo green cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, xiii prelims, 240pp. Black and white illustrations. Illustrations by David Walker. Near Fine/Near Fine. Inscribed by author. Book is near fine. Owner stamp embossed on front endpaper. Dustwrapper is near fine. Animal tale in the tradition of White, Hudson & Williamson. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Longtree, Cotswold, animal View more info

Companion into Oxfordshire

By: Williams, Ethel Carleton

Price: £7.00

Publisher: London, Methuen: 1936

Edition: second edition

Inscription: Owners inscription

Seller ID: 6191

Condition: Good


Hardback, 190mm x 125mm blue cloth boards, black titles, second edition, ix prelims, 268pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good/NoWrapper. Owners inscription. No d/w. Spine and boards bumped but basically clean. Block darkened with edges grubby. Light foxing to opening/closing pags. Illustrated guide to rural Oxfordshire. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Cropredy, Banbury, Bampton, Oxfordshire View more info