Bookstore

Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
 
Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card

Would you like to buy a Gift Card for use in the Chaucer Head Bookshop online store?

 
 
 

Midlands

 - 12 items found in your search
Midlands

Click on Title to view full description

 
The Ambridge Years, Archer, Dan
1 The Ambridge Years
Archer, Dan. Michael Joseph, London, 1984. first edition, Hardback, 8vo green cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, 176pp. Black and white illustrations. Illustrations by Eric Stemp. Good +++/Good +++. Book has been read and handled, with maybe a hint of foxing to top block edge, but no other obvious imperfections. Dustwrapper (now protected) has some light shelfwear. Front flap square cut. Purported memoirs of a character from BBC Radio's The Archers, actually written by Wiliam Smethurst and Anthony Parkin. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Archers, Ambridge, Dan. 6229

Price: 8.00 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Hawthorn Hedge Country, Archer, Fred
2 Hawthorn Hedge Country
Archer, Fred. Hodder & Stoughton, London, 1970. first edition, Hardback, 222mm x 138mm green cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, 188pp. Photographic illustrations. Good +/Good +. Spine and boards a litle bumped. Book has been read, block edges a little grubby, pages clean. Dustwrapper has spine bumped, has been handled but still bright and clean. Third of Archer's books concerning the only slightly fictional village of Ayshon in the Vale of Evesham. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Archer, Ayshon, Evesham. 6222

Price: 10.00 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Portrait of Birmingham, Bird, Vivian
3 Portrait of Birmingham
Bird, Vivian. Robert Hale, London, 1970. first edition, Hardback, 8vo lilac cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, 239+pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good +++/Good. Spine just a little bumped, top edge of block dusty, otherwise nice and clean. Dustwrapper has been handled, some shelfwear, spine faded. Rewarding single-volume history of a city which emerged to greatness during the Industrial Revolution. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Birmingham, Industrial, Chamberlain. 6204

Price: 7.50 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Portrait of Oxford, Cheetham, Hal
4 Portrait of Oxford
Cheetham, Hal. Robert Hale, London, 1971. first edition, Hardback, 8vo maroon cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, 240+pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good/Good. Ex-lib, with stickers and stamps. Book has been read but basically tight and clean, only block edges being a little grubby. Dustwrapper (now protected, some sticker residue) has a little shelfwear but overall bright and clean Authoritative illsutrated guide to the rich history of the University town. Catalogue: Local Topography. Keywords: Oxford, history, University. 6202

Price: 5.00 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
5 Companion into Worcestershire
Fraser, Maxwell. Methuen, London, 1949. fourth edition, Hardback, 186mm x 128mm red cloth boards, gilt titles, fourth edition, x prelims, 278pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good +/NoWrapper. No d/w. Spine and boards bumped but clean. Block a little darkened, edges just a little dusty. Illustrated guide to an old English county, rich in history. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Worcestershire, Civil War, Elgar. 6181

Price: 7.00 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
A Confident Century - Stratford-on-Avon Golf Club 1894-1994, Gee, John
6 A Confident Century - Stratford-on-Avon Golf Club 1894-1994
Gee, John. Square One, Worcester, 1994. first edition, Hardback, 8vo green cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, xii prelims, 179pp. Black and white illustrations. Photographic illustrations. Near Fine/Very Good. Book is near fine. Dustwrapper has been handled only occasionally, faint shelfwear to top rear else near fine. History of golf club in Shakespeare's town. Catalogue: Local Topography. Keywords: Golf, Stratford, Ryder. 6241

Price: 15.00 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Oxfordshire By-Ways, Marshall (M.A. (Oxon.)), Miss R.M.
7 Oxfordshire By-Ways
Marshall (M.A. (Oxon.)), Miss R.M.. Alden Press, Oxford, 1935. first edition, Hardback, 194mm x 124mm light blue card boards over cloth spine, 141pp. plus index, Fair/NoWrapper. Owners inscription. Card boards are bumped with general discolouring. Block darkened but pages still clean, binding good. "An account of scenes and places which for the most part lie off the beaten track in Oxfordshire" introduced by Sir Michael Sadler. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Oxfordshire, by-way, walking. 6184

Price: 4.50 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
8 The Cathedral Church of Worcester
Noake (J.P.), Valentine. Littlebury, Worcester, Hardback, 8vo blue cloth boards, gilt titles, , 96+pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good/NoWrapper. No d/w. Book in Good+++ condition save for foxing to block edges. Block otherwise clean, if a little darkened with age. Spine and boards clean. With a foreword by Dean W E Beck, this is a rewarding illustrated guide to a great English cathedral. No date given but internal evidence argues strongly for immediate post-WW2. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Worcester, Cathedral, Anglican, Elgar. 6199

Price: 7.00 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
The Dean's Handbook to Gloucestershire Cathedral, Spence-Jones (M.A., D.D.), Very Reverend H.D.M.
9 The Dean's Handbook to Gloucestershire Cathedral
Spence-Jones (M.A., D.D.), Very Reverend H.D.M.. J.M. Dent, London, 1913. first edition, Hardback, 186mm x 125mm green cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, xi prelims, 116pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good +/NoWrapper. Spine and boards notably clean and unworn for a 100-year-old book, though spine titles faded. Differential fading to endpapers, some darkening and foxing of block edges, light foxing also to some pages otherwise clean. Meticulously-detailed description of a great English cathedral. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Gloucester, Cathedral, Triforium. 6188

Price: 6.50 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Birds of Gloucestershire, Swaine, Christopher M.
10 Birds of Gloucestershire
Swaine, Christopher M.. Alan Sutton, Gloucester, 1982. first edition, Hardback, 8vo black cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, 236pp. plus index, Black and white illustrations. Photographic illustrations. Good +/Good. Spine a little bumped, light differential fading to endpapers, embossed owner's stamp on front endpaper, dusting to top of block. Dustwrapper has shelfwear along top, some evidence of handling. Illustrated guide to bird species found in Gloucestershire. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Birds, Gloucestershire, migration. 6234

Price: 6.50 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Hunters of Longtree - A Cotswold Tale, Walker, David
11 Hunters of Longtree - A Cotswold Tale
Walker, David. Orpheus Press, Aldridge, West Midlands, 2003. first edition, Hardback, 8vo green cloth boards, gilt titles, first edition, xiii prelims, 240pp. Black and white illustrations. Illustrations by David Walker. Near Fine/Near Fine. Inscribed by author. Book is near fine. Owner stamp embossed on front endpaper. Dustwrapper is near fine. Animal tale in the tradition of White, Hudson & Williamson. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Longtree, Cotswold, animal. 6251

Price: 10.00 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
12 Companion into Oxfordshire
Williams, Ethel Carleton. Methuen, London, 1936. second edition, Hardback, 190mm x 125mm blue cloth boards, black titles, second edition, ix prelims, 268pp. plus index, Photographic illustrations. Good/NoWrapper. Owners inscription. No d/w. Spine and boards bumped but basically clean. Block darkened with edges grubby. Light foxing to opening/closing pags. Illustrated guide to rural Oxfordshire. Catalogue: Midlands. Keywords: Cropredy, Banbury, Bampton, Oxfordshire. 6191

Price: 7.00 GBP
Add to Shopping Cart
 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to info@chaucerheadbookshop.co.uk
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie